Primer libro del canto alado 

for piccolo, flute, flute in G and bass flute (1 player)

Title of the work:  Primer libro del canto alado (2006).
Composer: Javier Torres Maldonado.
Duration: 6'.
Dadicatee: Mario Caroli.
Publisher: Edizioni Suvini Zerboni - Milano (for more information please send an e-mail to my publisher).
Year of composition: 2006.
Pieces: 1. Le moineau... l'escalier (the nightingale... the stairs), 2. Luz de luna (light of moon.), 3. Vuelo (flight), 4. Reminiscencia del viento nocturno (reminiscence of the nocturne wind.)
World premiere: First world performance: 30.08.2007, 10th Akiyoshidai International Contemporary Music Seminar & Festival, Japan, Flute: Mario Caroli.
Score (only with authorization)

Program note

«The work, which was supported by the Consejo Nacional para la Cultura y las Artes in Mexico, constitutes the starting point of a project I began in 2005. The basic idea is to compose different “books” for the musical instruments of the Western tradition, where technical virtuosity is used as a fundamental means of expression. The project intents to alternate pieces for solo instruments (odd numbers) with pieces where a main instrument is accompanied by other instruments (even numbers). So far I have written two books, whose titles are oneiric or fantastic. The first book consists of four short pieces, each written for a different instrument, but played by a single performer. The materials exposed at the beginning of the work are constantly transformed in the following pieces, almost to the point of being unrecognisable, especially between adjacent movements; this first book contains material that will be reused in the other books with odd numbers». 

Javier Torres Maldonado


Email: tmjavier[at]  

Other links:

Spotify profile 
Schott Music 
Apple Music